Skip to content

Blogging Germany

March 9, 2010

Despite the bad sore throat and struggling the consequences of chronic lack of sleep, I went to German Embassy (Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Bischkek) today in the morning. The Embassy is located on the intersection of streets Moskovskaya and Razakova, right next to the fancy-schmancy cafe Navigator and high newly built buildings with amazingly expensive apartments.

I was to have an interview at the Embassy at 10 am. I had to leave home late, but due to the light traffic, I could make it on time knocking at the Embassy’s doors at 9:55. The interview was a part of a competetion for the program of the German Federal Foreign Office called “Blogger tour” – a 10-day trip for bloggers/citizen journalists to Berlin aimed at enabling them “to independently discover some aspects of German society while also providing an interesting programme and promoting the exchange of ideas through regular meetings.” Sounds interesting, huh?

I was met by Thomas Arndt, a young cheerful Culture and Communication attaché, who invited me to his big and bright office. We had a long talk about my blogging background, citizen media projects I worked for, the role of citizen media in Central Asia, and of course about Germany and what I like most about it. As Thomas said the German government is doing such programme for the first time, and therefore, it was also interesting for him to be part of it – select a blogger (or even two) from Kyrgyzstan to participate in the programme. The interview went interesting. I was told that they would inform me about the final decision withing couple of weeks (there is another blogger in the competition). So lets keep fingers both crossed and crescented for my success🙂

Honestly, I was pleasantly surprised to know that the German government is trying to communicate with the blogging community of the world. It is a wise step of Germans, I believe, as citizen journalism is becoming amazingly popular lately; and many citizen bloggers have already become opinion leaders in Internet in different parts of the world. Well, it yet again proves the globally accepted fact that Germany is always several steps ahead comparing to other countries in creating and mastering new technologies.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 9:43 am

    Hey Tolkun, great! Good luck. Well, the German blogospheres remains largely underdeveloped, but it’s great to see that the Foreign Office is increasing its activity in this sector.

  2. March 14, 2010 3:59 pm

    hey good luck with results! you should get it because you deserve it.

  3. Fatalin permalink
    April 15, 2010 10:30 pm

    Have you been selected? If yes, we will meet soon, since they chose me from Azerbaijan🙂

  4. April 16, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hey, yes! I have been selected! See you in Berlin then. Sag ol!😀

  5. May 3, 2010 11:08 pm

    Dear Tolkun,

    I got an email from my professor today and learned about your interesting blog. I am member of staff at the Central Asian seminar of Humboldt University in Berlin and I am looking forward to meet you soon.
    Since 2007 Olaf Guenther and me are running a blog on Central Asia (see the link above) – unfortunately all our posts are in German. Would be great to get a short description of your blog and your work and interests to post it on our blog before we hopefully meet in May. I am sure such a post attracts a lot of students interested in the region…

    best,
    see and read you soon,

    thomas

Trackbacks

  1. Blogger Tour 2010: Day 1 « Tolkun Umaraliev's Blog
  2. Exploring Germany: Human rights and Communication at Federal level « Tolkun Umaraliev's Blog

Leave a Reply

