Skip to content

Blogging, Berlin, Friendship

May 26, 2010

To tell the truth, in the beginning, when a person form the German Embassy in Bishkek called me and said that I was selected to represent Kyrgyzstan at the Blogger Tour 2010 in Berlin, a 10-day workshop organized by the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, my first thought was “OMG, 10 days in Berlin?!” Cuz, after the bloody April events, the situation in Kyrgyzstan was changing every hour and, therefore, I had lots of work to do in terms of reporting at our blogging project neweurasia and working with foreign reporters. But… I decided to go for it.

And I did not regret it. The Tour’s programme was very interesting and useful. I had a chance to meet with high profile officials at the Foreign Office and get to know closer about the mainstream and new media development in Germany. The programme was also not-overloading with too much work. Therefore, it gave me a great chance to explore the life in Berlin – not only the touristic side of it, but also life of ordinary Berliners, which is usually hidden from tourists, their likes, tastes and culture.

And of course, one of the greatest things about the Blogger Tour was that I met 17 great people, whose company I enjoyed whole 10 days! They were all simple, unique, smart and with a great sense of humor (especially Michael (China), who enjoyed his freedom of speech at the Foreign Office, and Mahmoud from Bahrain, who ended up being our Blogger Papa :D). We all ended the Tour not only with strong friendship ties and promises to meet again, but also with an excellent idea of creating a goup blog, which is being discussed and created at the moment, that will be about developments happening in our countries from international perspective, and will have more like a think-tank character. I will write more about it when we launch the blog.

Last, but not least, I want to express special thanks and appreciation to the organizers of the Tour, especially Lisa, Lucien and Deniz, for their commitment in organizing the event and paying great attention and care for every detail, be it big or small. You did an excellent job, my friends!

So here they are – bloggers and organizers… and my dear friends!

Photos and collage made by me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 5:13 am

    Tolkun, it sounds your trip was both fun and fulfilling. You can’t beat a combination like that. Thanks for sharing!

  2. May 27, 2010 10:26 am

    Yes, Jim, it a very productive and entertaining trip🙂

Leave a Reply

